Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 
Gov WiFi Location

Main Content

Usage Guide

GovWiFi aims to provide free Wi-Fi Internet access at designated government premises. To connect to the government Wi-Fi facilities, you just need a Wi-Fi device that is compatible to IEEE 802.11 b/g/n standards. No user registration is required. Currently, the service supports the 2.4 GHz frequency band only. As there are many Wi-Fi mobile devices available in the market and new models are coming out from time to time, there may be compatibility issue with some models of devices. Please contact the GovWiFi Helpdesk for assistance.

Security and Privacy Protection

For security and privacy protection, you are advised to use the encrypted channel whenever possible. If your mobile device supports IEEE 802.1x and WPA2-Enterprise, you should use the encrypted channel. If your mobile device is not equipped with the required encryption function, you can use the unencrypted channel. But, in such a case, you are advised to transmit non-sensitive information or perform web browsing only as transmission in this mode is unencrypted and therefore unprotected.

Be Aware of Auto-switching of Internet Access Connection

Some mobile devices may have the feature of switching between Wi-Fi and other mobile data services such as GPRS, 3G/3.5G/4G. This switching would be triggered automatically depending on signal strengths of systems concerned, and may not be of notice to the user. If you want to avoid being unintentionally switched to these services (which are normally chargeable), you should disable the automatic connection feature or turn off the Internet access feature of GPRS and 3G/3.5G/4G if such function(s) are available on your device. Please read carefully the manual of your mobile devices and the information provided by your service provider on how to set the desired mode of communication (e.g. Wi-Fi) on your mobile device.

Conditions of Use

To ensure reasonable performance and fair use by all users, there are bandwidth control and time control for each connection. For better understanding of the services to be provided, you are required to read the "Conditions of Use and Disclaimershttp://www.gov.hk/en/theme/wifi/images/DisclaimersEN.pdf" (the Conditions) and accept the Conditions before using the GovWiFi service. A 24-hour Hotline (852) 186 111 is available for addressing any queries on usage that you may have.

 

How to use free GovWiFi service

  1. Visit a government venue where GovWiFiservice is provided (these premises will have GovWiFisignage signage posted, the GovWiFi Locatorhttp://www.gov.hk/en/theme/wifi/guide/../location/ can help you to locate these premises).
  2. Turn on a Wi-Fi enabled mobile device that is compatible with IEEE 802.11 b/g/n standards.
  3. Establish your Wi-Fi connection (for details, please see Setup Guides).
  4. To use unencrypted connection,
    • Set the Network ID (SSID) to "freegovwifi" and click "Connect";
    • Go to step 6.
  5. To use encrpyted connection,
    • Set the Network ID (SSID) to "freegovwifi-e" and click "Connect";
    • Input user name: "govwifi" and password: "govwifi".
      (Refer Setup Guides for detail configuration procedures of specific operation systems)
  6. Open your web browser and accept "Conditions of Use and Disclaimers".
  7. Start free surfing.

Note :Signal strength of GovWiFi may vary at different spots. Some less powerful mobile devices may have a weak connection at some spots. For a stable Wi-Fi connection, you may move to areas with stronger Wi-Fi signal.

 

Verify Service

You can verify whether you are connecting to the GovWiFi service by clicking "Verify Service" in the GovWiFi landing page. This should trigger a closed lock icon ( Lock Icon ) being shown on your browser. By further clicking this icon, you can see details of the certificate concerned and can verify whether (a) the certificate is issued by "Hongkong Post e-Cert CA" and (b) it is for the domain "ecert.wifi.gov.hk".

Note :The root certificates of Hongkong Post must be installed in your browser for successful verification (for more information, please refer to Hong Kong Posthttp://www.hongkongpost.gov.hk/index.html).  Browsers for mobile phones e.g. mobile safari, might not support the feature of viewing server certificate by clicking on the lock icon.  Users can check that the server certificate is issued by Hongkong Post to the domain “ecert.wifi.gov.hk” when accessing the “Verify Service” page for the first time.

 

Some tips in using the service:

Download the usage tipshttp://www.gov.hk/en/theme/wifi/guide/./UsageTips-EN.pdf

 

System Requirements

Hardware:

  • IEEE 802.11b/g/n compatible Wi-Fi device

Operating System:

  • Windows based operating systems such as Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows XP (Service Pack 2), Windows Vista
  • Mac OS based operating systems such as Mac OS X
  • Symbian
  • Windows Mobile 5.0 or above
  • iOS
  • Android

(The system requirements provided are for information only. You may check the user manual of your device or consult your supplier for more exact details.)

 

Points to note:

DOs:

  • Ensure that adequate security measures have been implemented on your Wi-Fi devices to protect them against virus and other cyber attacks.
  • Observe the Conditions of Use as well as specific rules that may be set out at individual premises.
  • Comply with all applicable laws of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

DON'Ts:

  • Access illegal gambling websites or websites with indecent and/or obscene materials.
  • Transfer, upload or download unauthorised data, software or works that infringe copyrights or Intellectual Property Rights of any parties.
  • Perform improper or illegal activities such as propagating computer virus, sending spam emails, and launching attacks to other Internet users / websites.
  • Monopolise or overload the Wi-Fi networks.

 

Setup Guides:

(Wi-Fi setup for some common types of operating systems is provided below for reference. It should be noted that the Wi-Fi setup may vary among operating systems, versions of operating systems, and also types of user devices. The setup guides provided below serve as reference only. For detailed Wi-Fi setup of your devices, please refer to the user manual of respective devices.)

Online Version

Back to top

Last review date: May 2017

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2015 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2015 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

跳至主要內容   跳至搜尋   跳至用戶群
用戶群
 
Gov WiFi Location

主要內容

使用指南

「香港政府WiFi通」旨在指定的政府場地提供免費的Wi-Fi服務。要連接「WiFi通」需要一個兼容IEEE 802.11 b/g/n 標準的Wi-Fi無線設備,無須登記。現時「WiFi通」只支援2.4GHz頻帶。因市面上Wi-Fi無線設備衆多,不時推出新型號,如發現Wi-Fi無線設備與「WiFi通」有任何兼容的問題,請聯絡「WiFi通」求助台。

保安及私隱保障

就保安及私隱保障方面,我們建議你盡量使用加密連接。如你的無線上網設備支援IEEE 802.1x和WPA2 -企業,請使用加密連接。如你的設備沒有所需的加密功能,你可使用非加密連接,但在這模式下,資訊傳送是沒有加密及沒受保障的,我們建議你只應傳送非敏感的資料,或者只進行一般網站瀏覽。

留意自動切換互聯網連接服務功能

部份流動設備會自動切換以Wi-Fi或其他流動數據服務如GPRS、3G、3.5G 或4G連接上網。這種切換會因應有關系統訊號的強弱而自動執行,用戶未必察覺。如欲避免於不在意的情況下被切換至這些服務 (一般都是收費的),請關掉這些自動連線功能;如果設備許可,亦請關掉GPRS、3G、3.5G 或4G的上網功能。請參考流動設備的應用手冊及服務供應商的資料,設定所需的通訊服務 (如Wi-Fi) 。

使用條件

為確保合理的服務水平和所有用戶能公平使用服務,我們設定了頻寬調節和時限調節。請細閱"使用守則及免責聲明http://www.gov.hk/en/theme/wifi/images/DisclaimersTC.pdf",進一步了解所提供的服務,並同意接受這些條款,你便可使用「香港政府WiFi通」服務。若使用上遇有任何疑問,請聯絡我們的 24 小時支援熱線(852) 186 111。

 

如何使用免費「香港政府WiFi通」服務

  1. 到有提供「香港政府WiFi通」服務的政府場地 (這些場地貼有「香港政府WiFi通」標誌 GovWiFi 搜尋器http://www.gov.hk/tc/theme/wifi/guide/../location/可協助你尋找這些場地)。
  2. 啟動支援IEEE 802.11 b/g/n 標準的Wi-Fi流動裝置。
  3. 建立你的Wi-Fi連線 (詳情請瀏覽設定指引)。 
  4. 如使用非加密連線
    • 設定網路名稱(SSID)為"freegovwifi",並按"連線"
    • 跳至步驟6。
  5. 如使用加密連線
    • 設定網路名稱(SSID)為 "freegovwifi-e",並按"連線"
    • 輸入使用者名稱:"govwifi" 和 密碼:"govwifi"。
      (詳情請參閱相關作業系統的設定指引)
  6. 開啟瀏覽器並接受"使用守則及免責聲明"。
  7. 開始自由上網。

備註「香港政府WiFi通」場地上的訊號在不同的位置會有差異,如以一些接收較弱的流動設備在某些位置進行連接,效果或會較不理想,用戶可考慮移往訊號較強的位置,以便使用穩定的Wi-Fi服務。

  

驗證服務

你可點擊GovWiFi首頁內的<驗證服務>以驗證你所連接的Wi-Fi服務是否由「香港政府WiFi 通」提供。瀏覽器會顯示已經鎖上的安全鎖圖標()。當你點擊這圖標,你會看見有關電子證書的詳細資料,並能驗證 (a) 該證書是由"Hongkong Post e-Cert CA"簽發,及 (b) 它是發給 "ecert.wifi.gov.hk"網域的。

備註香港郵政根源證書必須安裝在瀏覽器內方能成功驗證(如需更多資訊,請參閱 香港郵政網站http://www.hongkongpost.gov.hk/index_c.html)。 部份流動電話的瀏覽器,例如 mobile safari,並不支援點擊安全鎖圖標來驗證伺服器證書。使用者可透過第一次接入「驗證服務」網頁時,核對伺服器證書是由香港郵政簽發給 "ecert.wifi.gov.hk" 網域。

 

使用此服務的提示:

下載使用服務提示http://www.gov.hk/tc/theme/wifi/guide/./UsageTips-TC.pdf

 

系統要求

硬體:

  • 支援IEEE 802.11b/g/n 標準的Wi-Fi 設備

 

操作系統:

  • 視窗操作系統(例如:Windows 8, Windows 7,Windows XP(Service Pack 2),Windows Vista)
  • Mac OS 操作系統(例如:Mac OS X 或以上的版本)
  • Symbian
  • Windows Mobile 5.0或以上的版本
  • iOS
  • Android

(以上的系統要求只供參考。若需要更詳盡的資料,請參閱裝置的用戶手冊或向供應商查詢。)

 

注意事項:

應該:

  • 確保你的Wi-Fi裝置有足夠的安全措施,以防禦病毒入侵及其他數碼攻擊。
  • 遵守使用守則,及個別場地的規則。
  • 遵守所有香港特別行政區的相關法例。
不應該:
  • 進入非法賭搏、不雅及淫穢網站。
  • 傳送、上載或下載未授權的資料、軟件及侵犯版權或知識版權的作品。
  • 進行不洽當或非法的活動,例如對互聯網上其他用家或網站散播電腦病毒、傳送垃圾郵件和發動攻擊。
  • 霸佔使用整個Wi-Fi網路或使到網路過度負荷。

 

設定指引:

(以下載列了一些常用操作系統的Wi-Fi無線網絡設置資料,供參考之用。請注意,Wi-Fi無線網絡設置或會因操作系統、操作系統版本及用戶裝置類型而異。以下提供的設置指南僅供參考之用。至於用戶裝置的Wi-Fi無線網絡設置詳情,請參閱有關裝置的用戶手冊。)

網上版本

返回頁首

覆檢日期:2017 年 5 月

  • 符合萬維網聯盟有關無障礙網頁設計指引中2A級別的要求
  • 無障礙網頁守則
  • IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站
  • 無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
  • 網絡無障礙優異網站獎2011-13 - 紅寶石獎
  • 萬維網推廣協會WebAward 2015 - 超卓政府機構網站獎
  • 互動媒體大獎 2015 - 最優秀網站(政府類別)
網頁完結